DD Pitch video--feedback?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jan 7, 2009
Left Coast
<embed src="http://share.ovi.com/tools/twidgets/ticker.swf?feed=dunhamorama.pitchclips" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" height="100" width="440">

This is my first try at uploading a link to a video. Hope it works.

13 yo, 5'5", cruises well around 52-53, a couple of good movement pitches

I see a few things in this clip of my DD, like that her arm is maybe too straight going down the back, and she seems to cut her forward step off short of full extension. Id like to help her squeeze out a few more mph as we work through fall ball. Any suggestions?

May 7, 2008
Tucson
Well, I am thinking that the back swing that she uses is way too high. In fact, I rarely see it that high. I am concerned that like my own DD that came up high over her head prior to the pitch, that your DD is working the shoulder twice, during her pitch. My DD's shoulder didn't last long.

Then, the forward stride is good until she gets to toe touch, when she drops the front foot way too soon and she has to push the ball from there.

So, basically I am saying that her timing is off.

She is pretty good though, but I think she is capable of a lot more power.

sluggers

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 26, 2008
Dallas, Texas
d845dcbbfa0248628e93954e4c60ed9e.jpg

b9c1bc1943e04ac9bf4d746224d7a7a9.jpg

To a large extent, underhand pitching is simply upside down overhand throwing.

When you throw overhand for distance, at the beginning of the throw you take your right hand back and drop your right shoulder. Prior to release, your right shoulder moves up. So, the right shoulder goes from down to up.