Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Register Log in

courtesy Runner sub into game?

May 30, 2013
1,293
63
Binghamton, NY
Quick question:
In rulesets that allow a courtesy Runner for Pitcher or Catcher, and dictate that the Runner MUST be a bench player (and not the last batted out, for example).

Can a girl courtesy Run for Pitcher or Catcher and then later Sub in to the game?
Can she sub into any spot in the lineup? or is she regulated to only sub into the Pitcher or Catcher sport that she previously ran for?

I'm guessing she is still technically still a bench player who has not yet entered the game,
and thus can sub in for any spot in the lineup?
 
Oct 2, 2011
3,353
113
Florida
Quick question:
In rulesets that allow a courtesy Runner for Pitcher or Catcher, and dictate that the Runner MUST be a bench player (and not the last batted out, for example).

Can a girl courtesy Run for Pitcher or Catcher and then later Sub in to the game?
Can she sub into any spot in the lineup? or is she regulated to only sub into the Pitcher or Catcher sport that she previously ran for?

I'm guessing she is still technically still a bench player who has not yet entered the game,
and thus can sub in for any spot in the lineup?
Yes, she can sub into the game for any spot in the lineup.

In most rule books, if she is a courtesy runner she can't be used a substitute as well in the same half-inning and she can't courtesy run for both pitcher AND catcher in the same half-inning. For example; if you use a courtesy runner for the pitcher you can't use her as a pinch runner or hitter or have her courtesy run for the catcher in that half inning. Next inning you can do whatever.

I say most rulebooks, because the rule is all over the place and most likely to be changed for local tournaments.
 
Aug 1, 2019
121
28
South Carolina
In most rule books, if she is a courtesy runner she can't be used a substitute as well in the same half-inning and she can't courtesy run for both pitcher AND catcher in the same half-inning. For example; if you use a courtesy runner for the pitcher you can't use her as a pinch runner or hitter or have her courtesy run for the catcher in that half inning. Next inning you can do whatever.
Not accurate. When a player enters as a courtesy runner for the pitcher, she cannot be a courtesy runner for the catcher anytime in the game. It's not restricted to just that half inning. For example, if she was the courtesy runner for the pitcher, and then she is subsequently entered to courtesy run for the catcher three innings later, that's an illegal substitution, at least in NFHS and USA Softball. I cannot speak for U-Trip, NSA, or other orgs where I don't umpire.
 
Oct 2, 2011
3,353
113
Florida
Not accurate. When a player enters as a courtesy runner for the pitcher, she cannot be a courtesy runner for the catcher anytime in the game. It's not restricted to just that half inning. For example, if she was the courtesy runner for the pitcher, and then she is subsequently entered to courtesy run for the catcher three innings later, that's an illegal substitution, at least in NFHS and USA Softball. I cannot speak for U-Trip, NSA, or other orgs where I don't umpire.
Yes, I was totally accurate for USSSA. (8.3.B). They don't link CR beyond the half-inning

For NFHS/USA and some other rule sets the I agree CR is linked to either P or C for the whole game.

As a coach I love the rule for getting more players in. I could totally do without it as an umpire. It doesn't make anything go any faster which is supposedly the intent and it one of the rules that changes across rulesets.
 
Oct 2, 2011
3,353
113
Florida
It would be helpful if you stated that up front. The original poster did not specify that this was a question under USSSA rules, so that's why I commented on your response. My apologies.
Nothing to apologize for. The CR is all over the place. Not a huge fan as an umpire (like it as a coach)
 
May 29, 2015
1,051
113
Not accurate. When a player enters as a courtesy runner for the pitcher, she cannot be a courtesy runner for the catcher anytime in the game. It's not restricted to just that half inning. For example, if she was the courtesy runner for the pitcher, and then she is subsequently entered to courtesy run for the catcher three innings later, that's an illegal substitution, at least in NFHS and USA Softball. I cannot speak for U-Trip, NSA, or other orgs where I don't umpire.
D’oh! Didn’t nail it. I missed that too! 😋

Problem is tournaments deciding to do their own thing ...

Add to that USA’s pool play rule where anybody can be a courtesy runner.

Why do we insist on making simple things complicated?
 

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
34,741
Messages
507,367
Members
16,075
Latest member
CP220
Top