Coaching 3rd... Really do u need to try to get into a 10U pitchers head??

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Mar 22, 2010
Maryland
First, I am a coach who wants to win just as much as the next coach, but I want to win because my players out perform the other team. I never want anything I do as a coach to affect the other teams performance, instead I want to coach my team not find ways I can upset the other teams players.

Situation:

10U Tournament Level Softball

We have faced this team in previous tournaments and not only am I annoyed with this teams coach, but other 10U coaches have also made comments to me about this coaches antics when coaching 3rd base....

What is your opinion?

Coach is on 3rd, gives batter signals and little words of advise (I have no problem with that!!)

Player steps into batters box.
Pitcher steps onto pitching rubber...

Coach on 3rd base starts again giving advise to batter such as saying:
3 balls 1 strike - 3 ball, remember it has to be perfect
2 strikes - hit it over the fence like you did last week
1 ball - 1 ball, don't swing if it is high or low
etc....

I get saying these things if you want before the pitcher is starting her motion, but it just seems like he is trying to get in a 10U pitchers head with some of his comments.

And he is loud, and clapping his hands etc... while he is shouting these comments while the pitcher is pitching.

My pitcher kept looking over at him after the pitch, so I went out and told her in a loud enough voice so that he could hear to ignore all the annoying sounds coming from the 3rd base coach when she is pitching, hoping he would realize that what a grown man was doing at a 10U game, in my opinion was just uncalled for.