Can pitching too fast too young make a kid more susceptible to injury?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 13, 2021
For the guys that have been doing this a long time. Have you ever seen or do you think it is possible for young kids to pitch too fast at a young age, causing them to be more susceptible to injuries. Let’s say you have two girls 9 years old. One throws high 30’s the other high 40’s does the one throwing harder have a greater chance of injury due to more stress and ligaments and tendons and such not fully developed.

Jul 16, 2013
Pennsylvania
It's an interesting question. I am not an expert so I will be curious to see what type of responses you receive.

I will say that most of the local coaches preach speed above everything else. While I understand the importance of speed, I question their processes. For example, most of these coaches do not spend much time on mechanics. They simply tell their players to throw faster and faster. I agree with @canyonjoe that bad mechanics are a leading cause of injury. Can telling someone with bad mechanics to throw "faster and faster" increase the possibility of injury? I'm not sure, but it sure seems like it could contribute.

My bigger issue with that coaching style was the effect on the pitcher's psyche. Generally speaking, young pitchers typically need to experience some success in order to be motivated to continue. I have witnessed young pitchers slowing down their pitch so that they could throw strikes, only to be scolded by the coach to "throw faster". Then they walk several hitters in a row and get pulled from the game. I have seen several of these players quit pitching before they really had an opportunity to gain any experience at all. Yes, speed is important, but what good does it do if you are throwing fast but never near the strikezone?

Jun 8, 2016