Are Composite Bats Demonstrably Better?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 7, 2021
Serious question and not trying to start any internet arguments.

I am new to the fastpitch softball world as my 10yo daughter started playing rec ball this spring. I’m not sure what information is needed to possibly answer my question(s), so here goes:

My daughter is 10 years 7 months old, 4’11” tall and 87lbs. She has previously competed in gymnastics and is currently competing in BJJ. In short, a tall-ish, strong athlete.

As stated above, she started playing this year and is currently using an Easton Topaz 30/20 Aluminum bat that we bought from Walmart for $35.

We have been doing weekly hitting lessons with a hitting coach along with going to the fields/cages on our own a few times a week. Current hittrax exit velocity average is 48mph with a high of 53mph. (As a numbers guy, I also have all of her hitting stats from last season, if those are necessary).

At our last lesson, the hitting coach pulled me aside and stated that she really should be swinging a composite bat. Basically telling me that her current bat is holding her back and to get a new one ASAP. At least that was my interpretation of it.

So TL;DR:

At this age and skill level does a composite bat make a difference? I’ve tried searching and reading the last week or so, I see everyone recommending composite, but why? I’m clearly overthinking this, but I am also genuinely curious.

Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Jun 11, 2013
I don't think it will hurt her development swinging an aluminum bat. I don't have any numbers but trying hitting some fly balls with a composite bat. If it's a good bat anyplace you hit it will launch the ball. The Sweet spot is most of the bat. With the aluminum if you hit the sweet spot it will go just as far it just is smaller.

May 17, 2012