Would much appreciate a totally honest assessment of my 10u pitcher daughter

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 15, 2015
I am quite new to softball (played baseball back in the day, though) and would be much obliged for the wisdom of more experienced folks.
My daughter started playing 2 years ago. She started pitching about a year and a half ago but, not knowing anything, she spent about the first 9 months with a pitching coach that taught "Hello, Elbow" and all that jazz. I am very studious, and knowing nothing about fastpitch pitching, I started hitting the Internet so I could learn as much as possible and hopefully help her. I concluded that the methods generally espoused in this forum were the best and fortunately found a pitching instructor that believes the same things (I knew I was on the right track when I started hearing "elbow to pocket, wrist to pocket" and such).
Last summer she told me she loves softball and wanted to play travel-ball and hopefully pitch in college some day. She's been having a blast in travel-ball, but I have seen such a small sliver of the world that I'm afraid I am still very ignorant of how good she is and what needs to be done for her to be on the right path towards her dream.

I would very much appreciate all honest assessments of where she stands right now. Her pitching coach is complementary, but I want a completely independent and neutral assessment. How good is she for a 10u pitcher? (She just recently turned 11). What would her chances be of making a really "good" team? Also, how can she improve? I'd appreciate constructive criticism... please be brutally honest... you can't be afraid of the truth if you want to improve.

Like I said, she just recently turned 11, and she is 4'10" and 100 lbs. Ball Coach Pocket Radar (the newest one) clocks her at 40-44 mph, with most at 42. The pitch shown is 42 m.p.h. Her Rev-Fire readings are between 16-22 R.P.S.