Video- Lessons from a 10U Catcher

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Nov 12, 2009
Kansas City
I got to watch one of my 10U's this past weekend and am extrememly proud of her. She is already utilizing her training and protecting her throwing hand, (Something we place a huge emphasis on at ACC) blocking pitches in the dirt, working on keeping strikes looking like strikes by not rooling her glove over, remembering that when the runner goes, the catcher throws (Thanks NECC ffor theis reminder) and realizing that you will make a mistake or two... Learn from it and move on to the next pitch.

[video=youtube_share;ET5lJzBFMt8]http://youtu.be/ET5lJzBFMt8[/video]

For more information, check out ACC on FaceBook and Advanced Catching Concept's website

Jan 18, 2010
In your face
At 10u she looks real good. Now I'm no catcher expert, but as a old pitcher, I wonder what is the benefit of her arm in front of her? It's still exposed for say a foul ball to change directions and hit the arm.

I always taught my catchers to drop the throwing hand behind the leg. I've only seen a handful of catchers who keep it upfront. I do like her wide stance, most young catcher's legs/feet are too close together giving them no balanced range.

Maybe Greenmonsters can explain, I do think I've seen more in FP upfront than in BB.

One more catcher question and I'm not talking about the video and comparing this young lady to college pitchers. My college coach always instructed the catcher on low pitches not to turn the horn of the glove down, he said umps look for that as an indicator of a pitch that is too low. He wanted them to move the glove straight down and keep it horizontal. Is this correct? That's what I've always taught, but again I wasnt a catcher.

b8f54a85.jpg
[/IMG]
2a79cc39.jpg
[/IMG]

Last edited:
Jul 26, 2010