Timing the pitcher

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Nov 5, 2010
Ohio
I am a first year 12u coach trying to teach my girls to time the pitcher while they are waiting on deck. I am wondering if any other coaches use this method and if so, has it worked for you? Thanks

Aug 2, 2008
How do you have them timing the pitcher? what part of the pitchers motion? The reason I ask is before I started reading on here I couldnt have answered that question. In general we have them loading when the pitcher is at the top of her K, and striding around the pitchers release window. Its one constant motion that requires alot of practice. As far as the on deck circle, your players can time the pitcher when they are watching from the dugout. Also, if you are in the 1st base dugout your batters (right handers) are allowed to use the on deck circle on the 3rd base side.

stv

May 12, 2010
Love to use that method. Except for some reason our rec league does not allow use of on deck circle. I dont understand why.

Feb 9, 2011
Works great for fast pitchers we even call time and move our players around to the left deck circle if we are in the 1st base dugout makes it feel more natural. The door coach also helps and lets her know if she is timing ahead of or behind the pitch.

Oct 19, 2009
Watch the video and notice the hitter in the backgroud, she is a mirrow image of the batter on timing the pitcher. If it's good enough for college program it should be good enough for 12 YO's.

[video]http://i55.photobucket.com/albums/g157/PEPPERSFARMS/WhitneyLarson.gif[/video]

:cool:

Last edited:
Nov 5, 2010
Ohio