There's more to rotation than merely turning

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Ken Krause

Administrator
Admin
May 7, 2008
Mundelein, IL
It seems to be pretty well-established in most fastpitch softball circles these days that rotation is a critical, must-have element of good hitting. Yet it's important to keep in mind that the mere act of rotating itself doesn't guarantee success. When you rotate, you actually have to do something, i.e. generate power with it.

As a hitting instructor I see it all the time. Players understand that they have to "turn on the ball." Yet they do it in a way that looks good in slow motion video but doesn't actually accomplish what it's supposed to accomplish.

The idea of rotation in hitting is to recruit the big muscles -- thighs, butt, core, back, chest, etc. -- to help move the mass of the bat. Those muscles create power and batspeed. The smaller muscles in the arms can then be focused on getting the bat head on-plane with the ball and making fine adjustments. But when the big muscles aren't used, hitters have to depend on the smaller muscles to get the bat moving, which means they're less capable of making adjustments. They also don't hit the ball as hard.

However you go about it, rotating the hips has to be an aggressive, ballistic movement, not an easy turn into position. I will tell hitters to "pop the hips" to get them more aggressive. It's not just about speed -- the body has to be used properly, driving the back side up and around the front side -- but assuming the right things are happening "pop the hips" gets the idea of being more aggressive.