The MOST basic hitting concept I don't see on this site

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jul 17, 2012
Timing. I ALWAYS see mechnics critiques. I see instruction and GIF's about how MLB hitters swing a bat. I see kids with pretty darn good swings where mom or dad is looking for advice on why their little girl can't actually hit a ball, despite having such a nice swing. The answer is that what the VERY BEST hitters have, regardless of how perfect, or unorthodox their swing may be is exceptional timing. The very best swing mechanics break down because the hitter does not have the concept of timing. Starting the lower half and keeping the hands and hips loaded until they see the pitch. Decide whether to go...or not to go. As a coach, I've seen monumental gains in my teams hitting by teaching timing. Teach them how to use "their swing" . Teach them to load and be ready to fire on every pitch....with "their swing". Teach them to keep the hands back, but commit the rest of the body to every pitch, and only throw the barrel at what they see as a hittable pitch...aka a strike. Teach this FIRST. You'll be amazed at how much more they are engaged in learning to tweak the mechanics once they can actually hit a ball consistantly with a decent bit of force. Teaching the optimal swing mechanics first...without teaching them how to use it, is backwards in my opinion. You can teach a kid to swing with proper timing in a few weeks..... just need to work on the right drills. You can teach them to hit a well thrown pitch... Then as they improve on actually hitting the ball....you break off and work on some mechanical improvements.

Jan 13, 2012
The thing is that while timing is important, by developing a high-level swing, you partially build timing into it. The best way to learn timing, of course, is to learn to swing against a moving ball.

Sep 17, 2009