Team Decisions for Correct Development

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 19, 2013
This is my first real post although I have been reading your posts and gleaning from your advice for about 9 months. I have been commiserating over the decision of what to do for next year for a few months now.

My DD is 11 yo and is just finishing her first year of TB. She played one year of rec before this. She seems to be pretty athletic and has taken to it quickly. She loves it and works out even on her own frequently. She started pitching with a coach about a year ago and is progressing steadily. We are working to incorporate what we learn here and I think we have the foundation for I/R underway (hopefully soon I'll get a video on here and glean some suggestions). Here is my dilemma - do we do another year of 12 B/C level ball where she gets well intended but minimal and basic coaching but a LOT of opportunity to gain game time experience and lots of opportunity to work on her pitching and in other positions. Or do we try to make the move to a 12A team, even if it means bench time, to gain the more technical/quality coaching. She loves her team and the nice girls who will be staying another year but we keep hearing that it's time to push her to the next level from other coaches and parents. The 12A teams in our area are also going to be a big step up in money and require long drives to practices - which we realize will be the norm in a few years if we stay on this path - but just aren't sure how important it is to jump ship now while she's young, or if we will miss the boat if we wait until 14U.

Thanks for your ideas.

Apr 5, 2009
NE Kansas
With only 2 years of ball under her belt, I would keep her where she is for much needed experience. Maybe you could get the books and start learning the game to better work 1 on 1 with her and help bring her along?

JJsqueeze

Dad, Husband....legend
Jul 5, 2013