TCB Ball Help

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 29, 2011
I was thinking of purchasing some of the TCB Balls. It seems from what I've read on here that most people like them. My problem is which one to buy as there are 4 different models. I was looking for some suggestions and some discussion on why you like them....Thanks in advance the input.

The models are:
- TCB Ball
- TCB ATOMIC Ball
- TCB Hole Ball 5.0
- TCB Hole Ball 8.0

May 1, 2011
The hole balls, I have no experience with. From what I gather, they are like wiffle balls that have a longer shelf life (correct me if I'm wrong). The ATOMIC's I'm not crazy about. I guess it's mainly because I'm dealing with 8-10 year old's right now, and the big ones way a metric ton.

The TCB are another story however. IMO, they are well worth the money. This past year, I was an assistant coach for an 8u (don't crusify me SoftSocDad) tournament team and we were getting our butts kicked regularly because our girls lacked the understanding of swinging through the ball. Don't get me wrong, some of them also have terrible mechanics, but kinda like Hunter Pence, even bad mechancs CAN work as long as you swing hard, and get through the ball with some authority. There was one team that regularly was just pummeling us because of the way that even their littlest girls hit the ball. Everything was a shot.

I cornered their coach at a tournament, and asked what the deal was. I asked him if any of their girls were taking private lessons, and he said that only one little girl on the team was, but that they really started pounding the ball about a month after they bought the TCB balls. We ordered some the next day, had them rush delivered, and the results were instantaneous (for us at least). We placed in our last 5 tournaments that we played in, and actually took home the big trophy twice.