Should I just give it up?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jul 22, 2012
Random but I was hoping for some opinions.

I have played slowpitch softball since I was 9. I played varsity 1st base and pitcher in high school 4 years, where we made back to back state tournament appearances which was history made for the school. They had never had a successful softball team before. My Sophomore year they started a fastpitch team. (it was a poor school in rural Oklahoma) I played Varsity 1st base 3 years. We won our district my Jr. and Senior Years.

I graduated in 2007 and am 23 years old. It has burned me everyday that I didn't try college softball. Literally I get emotional every time I think about it. I just didn't think that coming from a rural place, I would ever be good enough to play. I didn't know such things existed as travel ball, etc. Then I went to Jr. College and saw girls on their team that played for teams we consistently run ruled and walked all over in high school.

I got my assc degree, got married and had a baby. She is 1 now. And i'm going to be attending an NAIA college this fall. The thought has crossed my mind several times about the chances of playing for them, but I dont even know if it would insult the coach if I asked. I'm afraid if I email her she would think I thought so poorly of her program, that I thought a 23 year old mom would be on their level. (hope that makes sense)

In my defense I'm in better shape now than I ever was in high school. I've been running 9-12 miles a week since the winter, and I'm not completely out of the game. I play rec. ball (slowpitch) every chance I get. I know the work ethic is there, and would be willing to work 7 days a week if it would be enough to get me back in the game, but i dont know if I'm crazy or not.

Does anyone have an opinion???

May 7, 2008
Tucson