- Feb 25, 2009
I scouted a game tonight and saw some questionable umpiring. This is a HS game. The pitcher would drag their foot sideways until it left the rubber in a space a couple of inches on the 1st base side of the rubber. Then, the pitcher would stride out forward off to that side. When the ball was thrown inside, it often looked like it was headed toward the hitter. The umpire asked my opinion and I told him that the pitcher could not take that drive foot to the side beyond the rubber. I also said that the move forward could not be off to the side. If you had the two line drawn that you see in college, the pitcher would never be in that box or rectangle. The umpire would not call an illegal pitch and said that they were unsure of the rule. So, am I correct in my assertion to him?