New player

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Oct 19, 2009
Covina, Ca
Well my story is that i started playing softball my senior year with no experience but softball camps at all but ended up being one of the fastest and best hitters, and my dilemma is this..i really want to play college softball but when i went to the tryouts i froze because the girls who showed up have been playing for years at for their AAU leagues and high school and here i am trying out with minimum experience. How can i get over this in order to show them i really know how to play this game?

May 12, 2008
Go to several try out camps. Go to the ones you aren't much interested in first.

If you are fast enough, you can often make a team just on speed alone if you make clear you are willing to pinch run and sub in occassionally while they develop you.

May 12, 2008
Yeah but if nerves keep her from showing that at the camp, that's a problem. I figure speed won't desert her due to nerves and I figure after several tryout camps with teams that aren't her first priority, the nerves will subside.

May 7, 2008
Tucson
Athletic, What other sports do you play?

Do you have someone that can practice throwing and fielding with you every day?

As you build confidence, the nerves should go away.

May 9, 2008
Dear A,

If you "freeze" in pressure situations. It is an indication of a lack of proper mental skills that are required for competition. You can boost your confidence by being both mentally and physically prepared. I'd recommend that you visit WinningSTATE-Confidence Books you can purchase for a small fee a book that is softball specific that will give you the insight you need to gaining those skills.

Pops