Need help for indoor practice plan

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Aug 12, 2014
We decided to schedule an indoor practice for our team in a couple of weeks (12U rec). I've never done them before so I'm looking for some ideas on how to get the most out of it. We'll have two tunnels for 90 minutes, we have the open to open them up into one large space. Our goals are to work on hitting, pitching/catching, and some throwing. Any help is appreciated!

Apr 17, 2019
In 90 minutes, I'd leave out the pitching and catching and schedule an additional time for just them. Otherwise, have something set up for them as you work catching and throwing with the rest of the team. With rec, you're probably best to try and get an extra practice. It'll be hard to give useful instruction to both groups at the same time. Is it just you, or do you have assistants?

My usual 90 minute plan (and I usually have to keep a timer to keep me to just 15 mins. You'll be shocked the bad form you see, let it inform your next practice.):
15 mins warmup/agility (light cardio/plyo, footwork, shuffles, reactions, balance, sprinting technique. A little serious, a little fun, just working on body control and awareness and developing speed, strength and agility. Not much you can do in 15 mins, but it's a good time for some bonding, giggles, challenge their coordination, and have them bring intention to the rest of the workout.)
15 mins catching/grounder warmup (start slow with empty hand, high focus on watching the ball in. Add glove, remind them to focus the ball. Seems like they all need this reminder every practice)
15 mins throwing warmup/competition (speed, funneling, accuracy)
5 mins to get water/helmets/tees, set up, explain stations