Lazy Swing

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jul 21, 2009
I just made a post a bit ago about a player I have with a terrible upper-cut swing. Well, I also have a couple of players who have very weak swings. If you did not see my previous post, I am a first time coach for an adult slowpitch softball team. I'm 24 years old, and my players are all in their early to mid-20's as well. So I do not have the luxury of working with kids here. These guys are used to doing things certain ways, and I feel that it will not be quite as easy to fix some of the errors I'm seeing.

But anyway, I have a couple of players who have not played baseball for a long time, and when they did probably weren't ever really that good with a bat anyway. But when we have batting practice their hits are just so unimpressive. I don't want to soung mean or anything, but there must be a way I can get them to swing through with more power. They aren't driving the ball. Of course they get a few hits here and there, but for the most part, they're weak groundball and lazy pop-ups to the infield or to the shallow OF. I want to know if there's any really great advice I can give these guys that will make them drive the ball a little more. Or any drills that can help with this. Remember these guys are in their 20's, so, whether that matters or not, I don't know. But I used to coach little league, and already I know there's a huge difference between these guys and the kids. But just something for them to get a little more power behind their bat would be great. I really appreciate any help here. Thanks.

FJRGerry

Abby's Dad
Jan 23, 2009
Collegeville, PA