How to handle the know everything coach???

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 8, 2013
California
Hello all,

I am sort of new just been reading the threads and not posted much but have a question. My DD is playing 10U A ball and is a lefty slapper who can also hit for power. Obviously power is relative at 9 years old but she has cracked 3 HR's this season where she hits it over the right fielder and motors around the bases. She goes to an outstanding hitting instructor once a week and he (and my DD) are solely responsible for her success. Her hitting instructor is also the President of the organization she plays for, however he is not involved with the 10U team much as her has a lot of other stuff going on. I am an assistant coach who is learning the game as I go with her, but we have two coaches who are constantly trying to work on hitting with my DD. They are both very aware she sees an instructor and in the sport I have played in college and coached a high school team (golf), if a kid was seeing an instructor you let them practice but you did not mess with their swing.

For example, yesterday as we were warming up doing soft toss, the girls hit probably 30 balls each into the net and move on, well one coach kept my DD there for at least 100 swings giving her instruction and messing with her swing. To me it seems insane to do this in this situation #1, but also I get the feeling he wants his finger prints on her if and when she succeeds and every time this coach does soft toss with her she fails miserably. Granted it has been only a few games but each one she is puts up an 0 fer. I also could be nuts and over analyzing the situation, she is only 9!

I am not the manager so I feel awkward approaching them and saying hey leave my DD alone, but I do not know how to approach or if I even should.

HELP!!

Sep 24, 2013
Midwest