How good is internal / external rotation

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jan 29, 2015
My DD is 11 and has been pitching for almost two years now. Her first pitching coach was a hello elbow coach. We had to leave her a while back which was not our decision. When we had to leave the 1st pitching coach I started training her on for arm fire or internal external rotation. It was tough at first but she started coming around nicely and actually liked it once she understood fast ball spin. Recently we have found a new pitching coach. During our last lesson she noticed my DD turning her palm down (internal rotation of the forearm) and said she was throwing a drop ball. I stepped in and showed her the spin that the external internal rotation produces and she then said that it was a screw ball. She quickly changed her release to have her thumb down and sweep. My DD was confused to say the least. We left that lesson with a lot of questions and this point I don't know what to do. Keep working on internal / external rotation or go with the thumb down sweep method. If we decide to stay with the internal / external rotation we are going to have to leave this coach because she doesn't teach it. Am I battling between old methods and new methods?

marriard

Not lost - just no idea where I am
Oct 2, 2011
Florida