Hillhouse Pitching Clinic Experience - NC

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Oct 4, 2011
I just wanted to let everyone out there know how my experience was with Bill this past weekend. I am a head softball coach at a high school (no time for travel ball - I have 3 daughters! :p ) I have been giving lessons since I graduated high school *cough-cough*, in '95. I was taught alot of old school methods and in turn, had been teaching the same way until about 5 years ago when I ran across the House of Pitching website. Needless to say, it changed the way I teach and honestly, I feel bad for teaching the old ways to my students for all of those years! :(

In the past few years I have accumulated a handful of talent, but I was seeing a trend in our area with pitching. I couldn't believe the bologna that was being fed to these pitchers and their parents and they followed like sheep! Lord, if anything, they could at least do some research to know that what they were being told was DEAD WRONG! LOL So, back in June, I decided to drop Bill an email just to see what it would take to get him to come out and give a clinic. I gotta say everyone, it was pretty easy! Bill carries his own insurance, so all you need is an indoor facility (he is literally putting on clinics and lessons from 9am to 9pm - so he would rather be inside...I concur! :D ) Bill seems to be a 'first come, first serve basis'....so basically - you snooze, you lose! Take my advice - if you feel they same way I did about being frustrated at all the trash that is being taught in your area - invite as many pitching coaches/coaches as you can to the seminar (this is for the clinic package) and see how many 'egos' are out there! Most won't show up, but their students and parents will give it a go. However, when the parents sit and listen - it's like a light bulb gets turned on and they wonder why they were being taught counter-productive methods!