Frustrated mom , discouraged daughter please help

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 20, 2012
Well my daughter is 11 and pretty big for her age (5'6" 165lbs) and has a great love for pitching . She has played rec ball since 5 and we have had some horrible experiences with coaches . Every coach has a different way they want things done but the one thing they have all told her is she had too much speed and needed to slow down and throw strikes (really??) I have never played softball so I'm no expert but everything i have read says her accuracy will come with experience . Needless to say in 2 years of fast pitch she was only allowed to pitch to a handful of batters , she would always be pulled after 1 or 2 and replaced with the other pitchers who threw the same ratio of strikes and balls but at a much lower speed (pretty much a windmill slowpitch) I found a local college player to coach her we got around 10 lessons in then she transfered to another school . She went to a camp at the college last summer also and they praised her even moved her up to the 13-14 yr group (she was 10 ) . When they used the radar to check her she was averaging 47mph. I have no idea what she is throwing now but it seems alot faster . I am currently looking for a pitching coach and possibly a select team in our area but have had no luck . We are in the Lafayette,la area . If you have any suggestions or input thanks in advance .

Jun 14, 2011
Field of Dreams
When your daughter is that much stronger that her peers- this might be expected to happen up to a point. At 12U there should be someone who can catch your daughter - although you probably will have to go outside rec to find that. I think your idea of looking for a travel program is a good one.