coaching certifications

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jan 18, 2011
I've been coaching local rec ball for many years and was wondering, is there coaching certifications? Correction, I know ASA have certifications for coaches but are they the only ones? If i want to persue certification, where should I go or look to? ASA?

Jul 26, 2010
The ASA ACE is the only softball specific one that I know, but the American Coaching Academy has a very good program for coaching youth sports in general along with a certification program. I recommend it if you coach multiple sports or are interested in coaching for a public school of some sort.

-W

Ken Krause

Administrator
Admin
May 7, 2008
Mundelein, IL
The National Fastpitch Coaches Association has the best softball certification program, the National Fastpitch Coaches College, but it's something you have to be pretty serious about. Each class costs $225 for non-members and $200 for members.

The program was based along the lines of the licenses for soccer coaches. It's a masters-level college program focused entirely on softball. Each class focuses on a specific aspect of the game. You can really learn a lot, but it usually involves travel too since the classes conducted all over the country.

If you're willing to make the commitment it's awesome.

Jan 18, 2011
Thanks for the info. I was wondering about the NFCA, thanks Ken. My next question is, are they worth pursuing? Do any of the coaches here have them?