Catcher throwing too hard?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Roz

Jul 2, 2011
My daughter is a 12U catcher who is being told by other players and coaches that she is throwing the ball too hard to the other players, including the pitcher. As a coach, I have wanted her to make solid throws back to the pitcher to avoid delayed steals and to try to dissuade other teams from stealing as much if they see a catcher that has a good arm. When she tries to lob the ball back to the pitcher as she has been told, her release point on the throw is not always good and her throwing accuracy to the pitcher decreases. We are working on throwing accuracy when throwing at slower speeds, but I would be interested in some input as to what you think about a 12U catcher being told that she throws the ball too hard.

Nov 26, 2010
Michigan
I never like to hear a kid told to throw slower, however there are situations where a softer throw is called for. One of the problems I have with the hard throw to the pitcher (all the time) is that eventually it leads to problems to the catchers arm. If you are in a tourney and your catcher ends up catching 4 games in 2 days, if she is throwing hard every throw thats about 600 hard throws in 2 days. If that was a baseball pitcher there would be no organization, or sanctioning body that would allow 600 hard over hand throws in 2 days. She needs to learn how to throw with less velocity for when less velocity is OK, its for her own good.

One decision I made early in my dd's career was based on a coach telling her she throws too hard. I had to explain to my dd that hard throws only lead to outs if the other player can catch them, so she geared down for the rest of the year. Then we left that group and never looked back. If your girl throws too hard for her teammates it is time to find a new team.

Greenmonsters

Wannabe Duck Boat Owner
Feb 21, 2009
New England