Bring stats to tryouts?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Mar 18, 2013
MN
DD is planning to try out for several elite 14u teams for next season over the next few weeks. My question is, is it appropriate/expected for her to bring in her pitching stats from this season? Is it over the top or do most girls try to help sell themselves this way?

Jun 27, 2011
North Carolina
Interesting question, IMHO. ... Or should I say interesting 'subject.'

Nobody brings stats to tryouts. It just isn't done. But why not?

One is that nobody does it, so there's the fear that you'll stand out as an 'over-the-top' parent. Another reason is that stats can be made up. They can't be trusted.

But if I'm a coach, and you sent me your previous team's stats, for the whole team, I would be interested in that. I know how good all the teams are in the area, and stats can show me where you fit into that team. I realize they could be inaccurate, but so can watching a player field five ground balls.

My daughter is playing in a summer league for players who will try out for HS varsity in the spring. She's a rising 9th grader, so coach has never seen her play. The team is not practicing. It would be invaluable, IMO, for the coach to have the stats for all the players from their travel teams this year - if it were team stats, not just an individual's stats provided by a parent. But it's not something that is done.

Jun 27, 2011
North Carolina
We really do have to keep it to what they do in tryouts or it is not fair.