Loading

Talk to Other Fastpitch Softball Fanatics ... for FREE!

Register today and get the uncensored, and yes, the sometimes uncomfortable truth from real softball fanatics who live and die on the softball fields.
Signup to Discuss FastPitch Forum
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Subsitution scenarious

  1. #1
    I can talk softball all day Hawkeyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    128
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 71 Times in 41 Posts

    Default Subsitution scenarious

    here are 2 scenarios that were presented to me. Looking for some feedback from the experts on here. This is school ball so NFHS/ASA rules

    1. Put Hannah in lineup as DP in 6th spot in order for example. List Kayla as 9/Flex in 10th spot. Basically Kayla plays defense and hannah hits. Kayla can run for Hannah if needed but only 1 time due to rentry rule for Hannah. If she runs twice, can Kayla just stay in lineup as RF and hit in the 6th spot? Or do I need a new hitting in 6th spot bc Hannah is out due to reentry.

    2. List Hannah as RF only. If I want to put Kayla in for defense later in game then it would be a straight substitution. Kayla in - Hannah out with potential re-entry. Is there a way to be able to switch Kayla in for defense later in game but not lose Hannah in batting order? List Hannah as DP/9? Still list Kayla as Flex? Then Kayla can play defense for anyone as flex, correct? But if she is listed as Flex in the 10 spot on the lineup does she have to be in the game to start?

    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,804
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,286 Times in 778 Posts

    Default

    #1, you can switch back and forth between 10 and 9 players as many times as you want and have available subs to fill whichever position you have leaving the lineup. The second time you had the flex run for the dp, yes that particular dp could no longer come back into the game, but any available legal sub could come in and take the dp position. There is no requirement to put another dp into the game, if you had the flex run for the dp a second time and the original dp no longer had a re-entry, yes the flex can just continue to occupy that spot in the batting order for the remainder of the game and leave the lineup at 9 players.

    #2, Im not completely following what you are trying to do. The dp is an offensive position that can also play defense for any player other than the flex and no one has left the game. The flex is a defensive position only and must be on the field. If Im following what you are trying to do, it is the dp, not the flex that can be moved around on defense and play for other positions. The flex must be out on defense or they have left the game. The dp/flex option must be on the lineup card at when they are submitted to the umpire, but, the coach can immediately drop to 9 players after that and still have the dp/flex option available for the remainder of the game.

  3. #3
    Certified softball maniac GunnerShotgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,548
    Thanks
    661
    Thanked 915 Times in 471 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Comp View Post
    The flex is a defensive position only and must be on the field.
    Whats the penalty for the flex not actually being on the field (when they should be)? Say the DP runs out to play defense for the flex.

  4. #4
    Certified softball maniac Sweet Lou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    NorCal
    Posts
    2,165
    Thanks
    929
    Thanked 812 Times in 522 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GunnerShotgun View Post
    Whats the penalty for the flex not actually being on the field (when they should be)? Say the DP runs out to play defense for the flex.
    You have subbed out the flex.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Sweet Lou For This Useful Post:

    GunnerShotgun (05-18-2017)

  6. #5
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,804
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,286 Times in 778 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GunnerShotgun View Post
    Whats the penalty for the flex not actually being on the field (when they should be)? Say the DP runs out to play defense for the flex.
    Depends on rule set, in NFHS its an unreported substitution and the coach gets a warning. If it happens again, coach and player are restricted to dugout.

    In USA, if the unreported sub makes a play on the ball, the offended coach gets the option of the result of the play or a do over.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Comp For This Useful Post:

    GunnerShotgun (05-18-2017)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --