I am an unqualified pitching instructor

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Oct 22, 2009
One of my 10u pitchers was told by one of her teammates this week that she would never pitch high school nor college because her pitching instructor had no idea what she was doing because she had never pitched in college.

She is scolded by this player who is her catcher and 3rd string pitcher every time she pitches because she's "doing it wrong". Her mother took her DD and another teammate who witnessed the conversation to the head coach (it was his DD that said it) and explained to him what his DD was telling her daughter and he asked his DD if she said it, she denied it, he said, case closed.
My students mother knows the head coach put his DD up to it because it's not like a 10yr old to say something like that, it sounded like something she heard from her dad.

My pitcher recently won her local District championship pitching a no-hit shut out, allowing only one hit after a player hit her change-up.

People can be jerks.

So I guess I'm going to have to contact the 6 high schools where I have pitchers and tell them to kick my students off the team--I wasn't qualified to teach them.

And tell Texas to take back that 1st team All-State award one my pitchers was just recently awarded.

Oh, and Northwestern, Wichita and Kansas and tell them to stop scouting some of them as well.

Man I was trying to laugh off what my students mom was telling me last night, but it still made me a little angry as I was watching the college pitcher instructing next to me demonstrating to her student a long stiff arm push down pull up hello elbow.:mad:

May 7, 2008
Tucson
I am dealing with the same thing. I have to just paste a smile on my face and support the girls, the team, AllStars or whatever. I am thinking of a surprise for my student, that is the most recent to be dissed.

Oct 22, 2009