What to say to a Daddy to keep him grounded?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Aug 23, 2010
Florida
I have been working with a girl on pitching for about 9 months now. She was 7 when I got her and couldn't catch or throw, but her Daddy wanted her to pitch. She has some natural ability and seemed to pick up everything fairly quick. But she was 7 just turning 8. Some practices would be me fetching the ball all night long. She got better slowly and mechanically I could tell she was close. Well two weeks ago, she had that practice where it just clicked. She took that big step we all dream about. She is now throwing the ball very consistently with some pop. She is throwing strikes, hitting corners...... practice is awesome. So her Dad is pretty excited right now. I mean way excited. So I try and explain that she is still 8 years old and there will be days she just can't figure anything out. But she has made huge strides of late. I can already see the look in his eyes. His DD has a total of about 5 innings pitched in her life and he is ready to sign the D1 scholarship. How do I keep him grounded, so when she lays an egg in the circle (and she will), he doesnt flip out on her? Any suggestions?

Oct 19, 2009
I'm right here.
If you happen to be in ear range if and when he goes off on his daughter....just walk over and tell him You Can Get Anything You Want At Alice's Restaurant. But you need to make sure the daughter can (yes) hear you say this to him.

Last edited:
Dec 7, 2011
My 2 cents -

Ya have to let that dad figure it out on his own. The emotions of a pitching DD dad is a very uncontrollable beast at times (been there - done that).