TSSAA Rules for private lessons

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jul 31, 2014
Just a quick scenario. Lets say I'm a HS baseball/softball Head Coach governed under TSSAA rules. Can I give private lessons to players on my HS team and get paid for giving those lessons? If not, what would be the penalty if I were in violation of TSSAA rules?

May 9, 2013
I'm sure there is a rule somewhere...you sure can't practice with them out of season. Regardless of rule it would be highly unethical as the appearance would obviously be that those that paid would get preferential treatment. It would be like a CEO having employees pay to get private training to get better at their job.

Jul 31, 2014
I agree. I know someone who does this and tried to explain that it was unethical to them and there would surely be consequences, but sometimes wise words fall on deaf ears! Just wondering if anyone actually knows what penalty will be when he gets called out on it. Small town Tennessee where word gets around quick.

Oct 25, 2009
When I give private lessons I do not charge any player that is, or could be, on my team. The way I thin about it, if the player is a starter it might be said by other players (or parents most likely) that my private lesson player only made her position because she pays me. If the player doesn't make the position she wants then she could question if my instruction was up to par. Either way is a no-win.

I just can't see charging a player I coach. As a matter of fact we encourage players to practice outside of normal team practices. Charging them kind of goes against the grain.

Like others have said, unethical!

Jul 2, 2013