The glove arm: observations

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jan 24, 2009
In the offseason mechanical makeover of my DD's mechanics, we arrived at the point where it was time to correct glove arm issues. As Mark H would suggest, I studied a bunch of video of what the elite (D1 and northward) pitchers do with their glove arm. There seems to be three fairly distinct glove arm mechanics, specifically talking about what the glove arm does as the ball begins it's forward path after the backswing. (Disclaimer:I am a student here and I merely submit my observations for your comments.)

1. The fluid upswing (Finch, Hillhouse for example--though these 2 look quite different due to their different style of backswings). Many use this upswing style.
2. The circular glove-hand path, like 'wax off' from the karate kid movie. Many video examples of this style online, including Ueno, Amanda Scarborough.
3. The punch-type 'jab.' Cat is a prime example, but the Sarah Pauly slow-mo on this site looks like she is close to this with a bit of the circular hand as above.

Indeed, many blur the lines or use a combo of the three, but this is what I'm seeing.

From what I have observed in video, Cat is perhaps the best at keeping her glove on-line consistently. This week, I incorporated Cat's 'jab' mechanic into DD's makeover (switch from upswing/circular) with great results.

I'm wondering what others observe and teach and thought this would be a good discussion topic.

Vdub

Jul 21, 2008
I have study Hillhouse free video on his site and I see the same thing that you do, his glove hand goes out to the left and then circles back to his body. Many other pitchers do the same thing. I see very few pitchers that keep the glove hand pointed toward the catcher threw the entire pitch.

halskinner

Banned
May 7, 2008