tagging up from third base???????

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Mar 3, 2013
I have a question to see if anyone has a true reason for coaches to teach this. As a very aggressive coach I have several diff plays that our team will go over and execute both at practice and in games. One of the basic fund that are tought are tagging up from third base. I teach that the base runner will go back to the bag and then gets in a sprinter stance looking at the coach on third NOT THE BALL OR THE OUTFIELDER! Once the ball is within 1ft of the outfielder the coach drops his arms to signal her to go
I do not teach the runner on third to turn and watch the ball. This takes to much time. I can prove it.
I have done timed events with the same base runner with stop watches to prove this is faster(and yes I wait about 5 min between sprints to allow the runner to be at 110%. Watching the coach is over 1.13 seconds faster. Compare a track runner in the 40 yrd dash 1.13sec faster than you this = u lost the race. thats all it is from third to home. u must beat the ball to the plate. Please give me your opinion.

Aug 29, 2011
NorCal
What age?
I think you are teaching them to rely on the coach and not judge how to leave as soon as ball hits leather.

Mar 3, 2013
14u / Middle school age. What do you do if a fielder some how gets in the field of view of the base runner ? They cant leave the bag but you as a coach can move to see. U know we dont stay in those things called coaches boxes anyway. lol

Mar 3, 2013
Try it . We used a finish line laser device with stop watches. You will be shocked how much time it takes. Not all will be that much but enough to make you scratch your head. Try it out and tell me what you find Im always up for sug

Mar 3, 2013