Strikeouts

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Aug 10, 2016
Georgia
Is it better to have a lot of really good hits and more strikeouts or less actual hits and less strikeouts.

DD is pretty good at not striking out. I've been collecting stats on her since 2016 and in 558 plate appearances she's only struck out 38 times (been walked 105). Not sure of % of called vs swinging. The only times we ever got on her was on called strikeouts because we've told her to at least try to foul it off if it's close and stop trying to be the ump. Her BA is around .411 (only 40 xbh though) and is usually at the top of RBIs because she's just good at putting the ball in play..

However I've noticed that the girls that get the best hits all tend to strikeout a lot. In her spring season of TB, she struck out 2 times and had the second highest BA. The girl with the highest BA also had one of the highest # of strikeouts. It's just confusing to me if it's a good or bad thing. She's always struggled a lot with hitting well and I always wonder if it's because she's too cautious when she's batting. It seems like the girls that can get the triples or HRs just swing a lot harder and want to swing a lot so that leads to strikeouts..

Thoughts?

May 1, 2018
Depends on the role of the player. Lead off hitters I want on base, 4 hole hitters I want the bases cleared.

Apr 26, 2015
I don't really have an answer for you. DD is a contact hitter who finds the gaps. She has never put one over the fence. She rarely strikes out and has a very high OBP. Most of her teammates try to swing for the fences and seem to pop up or strike out and get out a lot. It is frustrating when we just need base hits, but they want to be the hero and hit a home run and wind up with an out instead.

I personally would take 4 singles over 1 HR and 3 strike outs/pop outs any day. You have one run either way - but 3 fewer outs.

Aug 29, 2011
NorCal