Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Register Log in

Some rules to Ponder.......

Aug 25, 2019
671
63
USSSA RULES:


271. The bases are loaded with one out. F1 catches a hard hit ball on the short hop, as R3 falls down when she leaves first base. F3 a) tags the fallen R3, then tags first base to retire the batter-runner, or b) tags first base to retire the batter-runner, and then tags the fallen F3. In both cases, R1 touches home plate before the third out is made.

Ruling - LIVE BALL and a DOUBLE PLAY in both situations. In a), R1's run does not count because the third out is a FORCE PLAY. A force play is, among other things, a play on the batter-runner at first base. In b), R1's run counts because the third out on R3 is a TIME PLAY, not a force out. For a given runner, a force play ends when a following runner is put out. (3.FORCE PLAY, p 21)

NOTE - the USSSA Fastpitch rules book specifically includes a play on the batter-runner at first base in its definition of a force play

272. The bases are loaded with less than two outs when the batter hits the ball above the infield. The umpires incorrectly fail to call or signal "Infield Fly, the batter is out." The ball settles in fair territory. All of the runners advance one base and the batter-runner reaches first base safely. After the play is over, the defensive coach protests that the batter-runner should be out.

Ruling - LIVE BALL and all runner advances (other than the batter-runner) STAND. When an infield fly is not signaled or called, the batter-runner may be declared out if brought to the umpire's attention before the next pitch. It is the responsibility of the defense and offense to be aware of the situation, as well as the umpires (8.17.H NOTE)

273. R1 is on second base with one out. The playing field has painted out of play lines instead of fences. F7 catches a fly ball in live ball territory and then carries the ball out of play. R1 tags up and advances toward third base. F7 throws the ball to F5, who tags R1 before she reaches third base.

Ruling - this is a CATCH AND CARRY and the ball is DEAD; the batter-runner is OUT, and all runners are awarded one base. Runners are awarded one base if a fielder unintentionally carries a live ball into dead-ball territory (8.14.D.5, p 48)

274. The batter, in an attempt to swing at a pitched ball, steps backward toward the catcher. Both the batter's feet are in the batter's box when contact is made between the bat and the catcher's glove during an attempted swing.

Ruling - DELAYED DEAD BALL and OBSTRUCTION is called and signaled. At the conclusion of the play, the offensive coach is given the OPTION of:

i) the RESULT OF THE PLAY, or

ii) the PENALTY - the batter is awarded first base, and other runners are advanced only if forced

CATCHER OBSTRUCTION is ignored if the batter-runner reaches first base AND all other runners advance at least one base

(8.4.E, p 43)

275. B1 leads off the inning with a walk. As she touches first base, a) in a continuous motion she steps off first base into foul territory, b) in a continuous motion she steps on and past first base toward the outfield, c) in a continuous motion she makes one step toward second base and stops, or d) she stops on first base and then steps off the base in any direction. F2 throws the ball to F3, who tags the batter-runner while she is off base.

Ruling - the ball is LIVE when the batter becomes a batter-runner as a result of a walk.

In a) and b), the batter-runner is SAFE. A player who is awarded first base on a base on balls may continue on down the first base line after touching first base and immediately return without liability of being put out, if there is no feint or attempt to advance to second base

In c) and d), the batter-runner is OUT because in c) her step toward second base is considered an attempt to advance, and in d) she attained first base and stayed there momentarily before stepping off base

(8.10 NOTE 2, p 45-46)



QUICKIE QUIZ:

What occurs at the pregame conference?


There is NO REQUIREMENT that the head coach attend the Pregame conference (see item #3 below). At least one adult coach must attend. NO BALLS SHOULD BE THROWN OR HIT DURING THE MEETING.

1) Lineup cards are exchanged and accepted by the plate umpire
2) Ground rules are discussed
3) The head coach must be identified (if is generally the person at the plate meeting, but by rule they are not required to attend)
4) Each team's attendee must verify "legally and properly equipped"
5) If necessary, a coin flip occurs
6) Time starts when the plate meeting ends
 
Aug 25, 2019
671
63
USSSA RULES:


276. R1 is on second base and R2 is on first base with no outs. B3 hits a pitched ball to the outfield for a base hit. As B3 rounds first base, she decides to advance to second base as F7's throw is relayed to F2 in an attempt to retire R1. B3 is obstructed by F4 and is forced to scramble back to first base even though she is not played on.

Ruling - DELAYED DEAD BALL is signaled and OBSTRUCTION should be called at the time of the infraction. If the obstructed runner is put out prior to reaching the base that they would have reached had there been no obstruction, the ball is DEAD IMMEDIATELY. If the runner fails to attain a base or bases because of the obstruction AND is not put out, a dead ball is declared at the end of the play and the Umpire shall award her such base(s). If other runners are forced by the award to the obstructed runner, they are also advanced

In this case, even though the runner fails to proceed to second base after the OBS, if the umpire's judgment is that she would have made second base without the OBS, she is awarded that base. For example, a runner who is knocked down rounding first base and limps back to first base hurting is not required to attempt to advance to second base in order to be awarded the base

(8.13 EFFECT, p 46)

277. B1 leads off the inning and hits a pitched ball on the ground. B1 beats out the F6's throw but misses the bag in crossing first base. Even though F3 catches the ball while in contact with the base, the base umpire rules B1 "Safe".

Ruling - CORRECT RULING and MECHANICS by the base umpire. When a runner passes a base, the runner is considered to have touched the base for purposes of awarded bases.

Missing a base is an APPEAL PLAY. In order for the umpire to acknowledge and rule on B1's baserunning violation, the defense must make a valid appeal by holding the ball at the base or tagging the runner BEFORE SHE RETURNS to the missed base; part of the appeal is some indication by the defense that they are making an appeal

The runner is considered SAFE until such an appeal is made (8.6.D, p 44; 9.2, p 54)

278. A bounding ball touches first, second or third base and then rolls into foul territory where it is picked up by a fielder.

Ruling - LIVE BALL and FAIR. A batted ball which touches first, second or third bases is fair (3.FAIR BALL.C, p 20)

279. The batter is standing with part of her foot on the line and part outside the line a) prior to the start of the pitch, or b) when the ball is contacted by the bat.

Ruling - in a), ILLEGAL. Prior to the pitch, the batter must have both feet completely in the batter's box. The batter may touch the lines, but no part of the foot may be outside the lines prior to the pitch. The umpire should not permit the pitcher to pitch until the batter has taken a legal position in the batter's box, subject to the 10-second rule. In b), LIVE BALL and NO VIOLATION. There is no violation for an illegally batted ball unless the foot is on the ground completely outside the lines of the batter's box or touching the plate (7.4.A, p 38; 7.9, p 39)

280. The home team is playing with a 10 player lineup using the DP/FLEX option. In a), in the top of the second inning, the DP, Humphrey, plays defense for the pitcher, Johnson. In b), in the bottom of the second inning, the coach inserts the FLEX, Nixon, to bat for Johnson.

Ruling - in a), LEGAL. The DP may play defense for a player other than the FLEX player. THAT player will continue to bat but not play defense, and is not considered to have left the game. In b), ILLEGAL PLAYER; the FLEX and her coach are EJECTED. Placing the FLEX player in one of the first 11 positions in the batting order for someone other than the DP is an illegal player (5.4.F, p 31; 5.7.D, p 33)



QUICKIE QUIZ:

Why is "LAST BATTED OUT" a nonsense term in Fastpitch?



There is no definition in any recognized code of what constitutes a 'last batted out". What is a "batted out" anyway?

1) Is a called strikeout a "batted" out, or a "non-batted" one?

2) What about a runner forced out at second base on a fielder's choice for out number three? Is she a batted out, or is the batter (who wasn't put out) the last "batted out"?

To avoid such quandaries, here is a magic term to remember -- LAST COMPLETED AT BAT. The LCAB is defined in Rule 8.3 NOTE!
 

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
37,977
Messages
580,501
Members
17,916
Latest member
William V
Top