Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Register Log in

Runner hit in face on double play attempt. Correct call?

May 16, 2016
568
43
Illinois
What call did the umpires make? Watched the video and don't know what call the umpire made regarding the batter that hit the ball.

The runner going into second base got what she deserved. If you don't want to get hit in the face get out of the way or get down. This is collegiate softball I think that runner knew exactly what she was doing.
 
Apr 15, 2016
19
1
Wife said they called her out so did not watch all the way to end but after watching the end they don't show the call. Read a comment from someone who watched the game and it was ruled a double play.
 
Jun 22, 2008
3,436
63
That is from 4 or 5 years ago and they had about 4 of those plays between the regionals and WCWS where they ruled double plays. At that time the prevailing interpretation was it should not have been ruled interference as the runner is not required to slide and must commit some act of interference other than simply running the bases. The runner is exactly where she was suppose to be and the defense needs to clear a throwing lane. If the runner had peeled off and gotten in the way of the throw, then that would have been an act of interference. If you look at the fielder, she makes no attempt to clear a throwing lane and actually appears to purposely sidearm the ball directly into the runners face. After these calls that year NCAA then came out with some wording about runners being reasonably expected to slide etc etc etc and now you have bean balls being thrown in NCAA to get cheap double plays.
 
Nov 4, 2015
220
28
Once the bag is tagged, IMO, the runner is out. If they do anything that affects the play other than a hard slide to disrupt the SS or second baseman, it makes sense that that interference should be called. Slide, peel out of the line, or even sit down, but get out of the way.
 
Jun 22, 2008
3,436
63
Other than NCAA, no rule set requires the retired runner to get out of the way of a throw.
 
Jul 27, 2016
2
0
NorCal
Comp, thanks for posting the vid, it's not clear, but sans interference call, wouldn't the throw into the runner be ruled a dead ball and batter-runner be awarded the next base? I don't agree with the non-interference call, tho.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
36,174
Messages
543,511
Members
16,913
Latest member
Mudhog79
Top