Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Register Log in

rounding 1st on a walk

Jun 6, 2018
114
28
n 7.08 (a) (5) Note 2, when the pitcher is in possession of the ball in the circle, all runners off their bases must immediately attempt to advance or retreat. Immediately, is interpreted to mean within a three-second time frame.

Let’s discuss a point that seems to be confusing to many, and it focuses around a batter-runner being awarded a base on balls. The batter-runner cannot be frozen at first base on a base-on-balls by merely returning the ball to the pitcher in the circle. The batter-runner after reaching first base may continue on, without stopping, in an attempt to reach second base. If the runner retreats to first without an attempt by the defense, that runner is out immediately.

9 out of 10 times this is called in high school games, might take a coach asking on the rule but all the umpires know the rule.
 
May 17, 2012
1,958
48
If the runner retreats to first without an attempt by the defense, that runner is out immediately.
Just to be clear the runner made an attempt to advance to 2B and subsequently attempted to return to 1B without an attempt by the defense. Runner would be out.

Rounding first on a walk and retreating to 1B is fine.
 

MTR

Jun 22, 2008
3,432
48
Just to be clear the runner made an attempt to advance to 2B and subsequently attempted to return to 1B without an attempt by the defense. Runner would be out.

Rounding first on a walk and retreating to 1B is fine.

Nope. All runners/batter-runners are allowed one "stop" whether there is a valid attempt to advance or not. Once that runner stops and the ball is in the pitcher's possession within the circle, that runner may either proceed toward the next base or return to the one just passed, but must do one or the other.


The BR can round 1B and continue toward 2B for 20, 30, 40 feet, stop and return to 1B
 
Last edited:
Jun 6, 2018
114
28
Just to be clear the runner made an attempt to advance to 2B and subsequently attempted to return to 1B without an attempt by the defense. Runner would be out.

Rounding first on a walk and retreating to 1B is fine.
Just to be clear, rounding first base and turning towards second base, and then retreating to first with out an attempt, the runner is OUT immediately.

After having this called against us 3 years ago we learned the rule and preach it to all our girls on a walk you go straight or turn right unless we point to 2nd in which you run to 2nd.
 
May 17, 2012
1,958
48
Nope. All runners/batter-runners are allowed one "stop" whether there is a valid attempt to advance or not. Once that runner stops and the ball is in the pitcher's possession within the circle, that runner may either proceed toward the next base or return to the one just passed, but must do one or the other.


The BR can round 1B and continue toward 2B for 20, 30, 40 feet, stop and return to 1B

I agree with you, it's the same as a hit. Not sure what you are saying, "Nope." too. My comment that if the runner stops after rounding, proceeds to 2B and then changes back to 1B they are out.

You can also round 1B stop, and then come back to 1B.
 
Last edited:
May 17, 2012
1,958
48
Just to be clear, rounding first base and turning towards second base, and then retreating to first with out an attempt, the runner is OUT immediately.
That just isn't true if they don't stop. As MTR stated above you get one stop so they could round first run/walk towards second base and then go back to 1B.

You see this all of the time with a runner on 3B and a walk to the batter. The batter walks to 1B and keeps walking to 2B. The batter/runner stops halfway between 1B and 2B. They can now go either back to 1B or proceed to 2B.
 
Jun 6, 2018
114
28
That just isn't true if they don't stop. As MTR stated above you get one stop so they could round first run/walk towards second base and then go back to 1B.

You see this all of the time with a runner on 3B and a walk to the batter. The batter walks to 1B and keeps walking to 2B. The batter/runner stops halfway between 1B and 2B. They can now go either back to 1B or proceed to 2B.
Technically if your umpire knows the rules and the pitcher had the ball in the circle and did not make any attempt on the runner as soon as she heads back to first she is out!

Most umpires now wait for the opposing team to know the rule and ask for a ruling before calling the runner out but there are still some umps that call it immediately because they know the rule and enforce it.

Long story short when a player gets walked and wants to take second because you have a runner on third they better not break stride to second without the pitcher making a motion that she is going to make a play on her.

So the original poster, in your scenario the umpire knew the rule and was correct in calling the runner out if they deemed she circled the bag towards second and the pitcher never made an attempt on her. Once rounding first she is not allowed to return to first without an attempt from the pitcher. (This only pertains to a walk scenario.)
 
May 17, 2012
1,958
48
Long story short when a player gets walked and wants to take second because you have a runner on third they better not break stride to second without the pitcher making a motion that she is going to make a play on her. So the original poster, in your scenario the umpire knew the rule and was correct in calling the runner out if they deemed she circled the bag towards second and the pitcher never made an attempt on her. Once rounding first she is not allowed to return to first without an attempt from the pitcher. (This only pertains to a walk scenario.)
None of what you are saying is actually true. Go back and read what MTR posted.
 

Latest posts

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
34,846
Messages
509,476
Members
16,148
Latest member
borush
Top