question: Brush Interference/ self taught?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Oct 16, 2014
first off I will say that I didn't even know what BI was up until recently. My DD is only 10. She started to pitch last winter (November, age 9). She learned the basics and went out and pitched. It was sometime around mid Spring/Summer of last year that we realized that she could actually be pretty good. She started seeing a regular pitching coach--> enter Internal Rotation. She was instructed on Internal Rotation last Summer, picked it up fairly easily (because she was never really taught NOT to do it and sort of did it naturally anyway). Since then I now have become aware that she brushes. I think maybe her PC has said she shouldn't really be, he's never told me that this it's just what she says she thought she heard him mention. He has never tried to get her to stop doing it either, but we are working on several things so don't know if eventually he will. Now that I've studied up here I see it's a good thing. She does it all on her own no one has ever instructed her to do it, but I can hear it when she pitches. I ask her what part is brushing and she says it's the inside part of her upper arm by her elbow brushing her side (like waist area), not her hip. Is this ok? Since she's never been shown or told how to do it and her coach has never mentioned to to me I'm afraid to ask because I'm afraid he will want her to stop (and I don't know for sure he will, I just don't feel like having that conversation right now). I will try to get a video or picture up but my photo stream isn't cooperating at the moment.

thanks

Oct 16, 2014
Ok here is a video and picture it's all I have on my phone at the moment

https://vimeo.com/162076692

a9702acf6d8c37ac96ead3107a36dc40.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Jun 18, 2012
Utah
Looks pretty good for being fairly new to it.