Pitching Feedback

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 28, 2016
Feedback on this pitcher? I see that she needs to use her legs more in the proper manner. I also see that she is not using her glove side the way she should and she is opening her front shoulder. I see pretty solid internal rotation. But of course, we all need more work on elbow snap and IR! Anything else? Thanks for your help!

https://youtu.be/eMBljiJAqJc

Mar 23, 2014
SoCal
I'm not an expert but did stay at a holiday inn were several experts were staying at the same time in Indiana. Lol

She looks good!
I would like to see more lean as she pushes of the rubber....not a bend but runners lean. She seems to be sticking her bottom out away from her release (towards 1st base) thereby appearing to miss getting brush interference. She might try staying tall through her release. Take a look from a front side view to make sure she is getting that brush.

I'm sure the true experts will chime in....

Jun 28, 2016
So as far as brush interference goes, why is this so important? It just helps with the release trigger and timing? Thank you for the input and your help!!

sluggers

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 26, 2008
Dallas, Texas
She is a big, strong girl. She should be pretty good. But, she has problems that are stopping her from reaching her potential.

1) She is not getting the full benefit of internal rotation. She is finishing with HE (hello elbow) rather than pronation of the forearm. So, she is losing speed.

She should be doing this drill...perhaps 100,000 times or so should do it. Two big points for your DD: (A) Ball *UP* at 9. (B) Forearm rotation ("pronation") during release.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/NE2GGn5mHWE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>