Parents

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Dec 8, 2009
We are what I consider a AA or a high B team. We have/had a set of parents who were continuously giving instruction to the players on the the field. As a coach I didn't hear most of it but I had some complaints from other parents about this so I addressed it in a team meeting and did not direct it toward anyone but toward all parents. I told them that no instruction or coaching was to be given by parents during games or practice, it got better, according to the other parents on the team. At our last tournament during an elimination game I had several players come to and complain about the same parents giving instruction and scolding them when they made an error or had a bad at bat. There were several parents in differant locations under tents so between innings I went to each tent and told all the parents and I quote " I don't know who is making the comments to girls but I have had several of them tell me that it was distracting them and that they needed to stop now" When I got to the last tent two sets of parents were sitting there one immediatly gets up and walks off, the other which I had not had any complaints about blows up " YOU'VE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME" no coments were made over here. I turn around, go back to the dug out, the parent who walked off has pulled his daughter off the field and is leaving. I let them go. As soon as the game is over I call a team meeting. The parent who blew his top is irrate thinking that I single them out, I pointed out that I went to all parents but there was no convincing him. I don't know if they will bring thier daughter back or not, but if if they do he I and WILL have an understanding about parental conduct. The player who left in my opinion quit the team as soon as she left. Should I allow the player who's parent blew thier top to return and did I handle this right?
Thanks 1999coach

Jul 21, 2011