Parent X. Coach ?s

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Oct 21, 2015
I am new to softball dd started last spring . She is on a 14b team . What is the general thought on talking to coach about their plans on your dd . Ie she would like to try other positions but always plays outfield . I understand off season is best time to work on this but it doesn't appear to be in the plans . Is this something to talk with coach about or is this out of line . Is this something we should move to c ball for ? I just don't want to lose a season without improving her experience level ..

May 24, 2013
So Cal
Welcome to DFP! :)

Having a conversation with the coach about the plans and expectations for my DD was a critical part of our decision-making process in finding a team. The line of communication between myself and the coach has remained open since joining the team.

At 14U, it is (maybe even past) time for DD to be having these conversations with the coach. You can role-play with her so she feels comfortable with the subject matter and what she wants to accomplish by having the conversation but it needs to be her making the first overtures.

Now, if she is summarily dismissed or merely being given lip service, then it might be OK for you to ask for some clarification. But again, it is her battle and you would only be stepping in to help her understand what is being told to her.

If you don't like what is being heard, well ..... I hate to say it, but ..... BFD. Find out if she likes it without putting your undue influence on her by stating your opinions vociferously. She still remembers being your DD at the age of 2-11 and those years have made her more inclined to listen to what mommy/daddy says than to think for herself. Let her think for herself ... but act more as a guide than a dictator. If you can do this, she'll be a stronger girl for the experience.

Last edited:
Aug 26, 2015