# of pitches

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Mar 27, 2010
I am new to this so please try not to slam me too much.

My daughter is a 10u pitcher. She is very good at locating her spots with the fastball. She just changed pitching coaches and he changed the way she throws her change-up, so she is still struggling with location, speed and disguising it. The previous pitching coach taught her the screwball and the new one is in the process of teaching her the curve and the drop. I am not saying that she can throw any of these on a consistent basis. I understand that even if she throws them correctly they don't move much becuse she doesn't have the speed. But is there any harm in teaching her the mechanics of these pitches?

She is not the fastest pitcher, but she averages 1 walk every 2 games and has only hit 4 batters this year. She does not have the most k's. She has picked up speed with the new coach.

May 7, 2008
Tucson
I don't know why pitching coaches want to push a 10 yo, so quickly. There is SO much to teach about the fast ball, that I don't even consider teaching them anything else, besides a good CU. 10 yo batters can't hit anyway. Why the rush on adding pitches?

A 10yo has a lot to deal with and I would be waiting until I can move her to 40 feet and a 12 inch ball, before I worry about additional pitches.

Apr 13, 2010
I don't think there's anything wrong with it. But, it's going to depend. Some coaches want you to master everything before you learn something new so they only let you throw fastballs and change-ups. Some think that age or even 12U can't throw any of that other stuff anyway so what's the point? Some think their DD's can throw 60 at 12 and have 7 different pieces.

It's a mosaic.