New To Coaching

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Oct 2, 2012
I am new to coaching and need to ask an opinion on drills. Is it best to keep on the same drill in a practice until it is done right or keep things moving so the girls don't get bored and pick up at a later practice? Also, what is the opinion on practice plans: have a strict practice plan with time limits for certain drills or go more by feel?

Feb 3, 2011
I am new to coaching and need to ask an opinion on drills. Is it best to keep on the same drill in a practice until it is done right or keep things moving so the girls don't get bored and pick up at a later practice? Also, what is the opinion on practice plans: have a strict practice plan with time limits for certain drills or go more by feel?

A variety of different drills can be used to teach the same softball skill. The goal should be for the players to develop the skill, not merely to become proficient at a specific drill. Keep things fresh.

ALWAYS have a practice plan, even if you do not stick to it perfectly.

Sep 17, 2009
I don't know about "strict" practice plans but do have a well-organized and written one. And then be ready to adjust based on how the practice actually goes (ie, you may end up needed to spend a whole practice on throwing, when you thought you'd just take 10 minutes, etc).

I am HUGE on getting basics down first, especially at such a young age. Catch and throw, catch and throw -- and do it right. Don't let mistakes go by, fix them right away.