New to Coaching Softball

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

This is my first year coaching a Middle School Softball team. I am an assistant coach but would like to become a head coach sometime. We have had tryouts and we have three scrimmage games this Saturday. Do you have any good coaching videos or anything that could help me be a successful coach. I saw coach Marc's items and was thinking about going through him. Any comments? Thanks for your help.

sluggers

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 26, 2008
Dallas, Texas
To be good at coaching softball, you have to *study* the game. (If you think playing HS baseball and watching pro-baseball is going to help you coach a bunch of 13 and 14 YOA girls, you are nuts.) You have to read books and watch videos. You aren't going to get it in a couple of weeks.

Marc's stuff is good. Howard Kubota does a pretty good in-depth look at softball defense. (softballskills.com).

Dec 5, 2012
Mid West
Absolutely yes, get the Howard Kobata 3 disc set. Its a very detailed softball specific defensive approach. If your a baseball player, some of his teaching will seem "Greek" to you, but after you watch it for the third time it will start to click. As far as batting, Coach Tchisda and Crystal Bustos videos are excellent. Also if your on a budget look up Sue Enquist or Mike Candrea videos on you tube. Always take the approach to teaching as an opportunity for them to be great, so make certain you are teaching them how the best in the world do it and NOT cater to their young age and low level. Like sluggers said above, you have to commit yourself to non stop studying from many different view points. And remember, the kids are snow flakes, no two are exactly alike. So find ways to teaching the same skill set in a hundred different ways!

Jul 9, 2012