Need Help Setting Goals for High School

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Oct 22, 2012
I am a first year coach at a high school that never really set goals before, and I really want them to be very goal oriented this year. I never thought I would have difficulty putting goals together for them, but as I started to write them out, I struggled with what I wanted to say. Just a little bit of background, the team has been good in recent years, winning two sectionals of the last four, but they graduated 7 starting seniors last year, and we have zero seniors on the roster.

I want them to have very key and specific team goals (i.e., beat Westville, beat Hanover Central, win 20 games, win our conference tournament, win sectionals, win regionals, etc.). We have 27 games on our schedule this year, and the team last year went 19-7 and lost in regionals.

I also want there to key specific, individual team goals. Girls would get stickers for accomplishing each of these goals (i.e., get two hits in a game, steal two bases in a game, pitcher records the win in a game, 10 strikeouts in a game, etc.)

I was debating doing detailed/specific individual goals for girls as well, even though I have never done this before. (i.e., hit .300 in the season, win 12 games as a pitcher, steal 25 bases, etc.)

I would love some input from you folks and what you've done in the past or seen from other teams. Any advice about the number of team goals, individual goals, etc. would be great. I really want the team to have a very clear path for what they want to accomplish, but at the same time I don't want them to be overloaded. I would love short, medium, and long term goals (one of the ideas I had was to divide the season into 4 sections, and make sure that we are at this point after every section).

Again, any ideas or suggestions would be great!

Carly

Pitching Coach
May 4, 2012
Pittsburgh