Hitting Analysis of 2 Different Players

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jan 15, 2009
Girl #2. This is my impression and I'm not a professional hitting instructor, I'm posting this to see if others are seeing what I'm seeing and get feedback on my opinion. If I was working with Girl #2 I would talk to her about trying to keep her hips and shoulders aligned. Her negative move has an ok hip cock, but her shoulders are way over rotated backwards IMO. When she starts to unload, if you freeze her at the point that her hips are facing the ball and a line through her hips would go to CF, at that point a line through her shoulders almost points at the ball. Probably an indication that she is flexible, but weak in her core. She is trying to generate torgue by rotationally loading her shoulders relative to her hips.

Ken Krause

Administrator
Admin
May 7, 2008
Mundelein, IL
I also agree with what's been said here pretty much. The first girl seems to stand up taller as she goes into contact. She starts out good, but has a tendency to come up out of the ball a little bit as she moves into contact. Could be a bit of a problem on drop balls, or other pitches that are losing altitude. Does she tend to hit a lot of ground balls? Overall, though, that's a darned good swing.

With the second girl there's definitely work to be done. I see major bat drag as someone else said, which could be her hands getting disconnected from her back shoulder as part of her negative move. She pushes them back, which a lot of girls tend to do. She then leaves them back as the elbow starts heading for the slot, so naturally the elbow gets ahead.

I wouldn't have spotted it myself, but I think SnocatzDad is right about the shoulder turn too. She's sort of out of synch.

Agree with Wellphyt -- show the second girl what the first girl is doing.

Ken Krause

Administrator
Admin
May 7, 2008
Mundelein, IL