Guess I'm still learning. :)

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jan 18, 2010
In your face
Got a question that I will figure out tomorrow, I guess, but thought I'd share and see if anyone had some answers before then.

A girl who we picked up a few times over the years verbal to a D2. Word on the street is she is signing NLI tomorrow. ( which is out of the early dates ) So my main man tells me she can sign at anytime after the early dates, but it won't become official until the April dates in 2013. Is this correct?

I have to plead ignorant, I've never heard of nor delt with signings outside the NCAA dates.

Edit: a link explaining would be even more helpful if you know of one.

Last edited:
Aug 12, 2012
NorCal
My DD was given the dates of Nov 14 thru Nov 21. If she did not get it in by then it was invalid. I'm not sure if they would have rewritten the contract or she would have had to wait for the spring signing. Not all D2 are in the NCAA NLI program with the strict guidelines. Not to say she won't sign a contract but just not the NCAA NLI.

Jan 18, 2010
In your face
It's pretty confusing, plus her father is one of those "snakes in the grass". You can't trust him anymore than you can throw him.

I know you have 14 days from receiving the letter to sign, so if she got it on Nov 21, tomorrow would be the 14th day. ( hold on gotta put my shoe back on from counting )

One guy thought she might be walking on, but I told him walk ins don't sign NLI.

Another friend wondered if she is signing a "code of conduct".

Oct 11, 2010
Chicago, IL
I know nothing about this so I will chip in.

"Must be signed within 14 days of issue date. (14 day deadline does not apply during the November signing or when 14 days are not left in the signing period)"

so I do not think the 14 applies to her.

Jan 18, 2010
In your face
Ok, I got the REAL scoop now.