Front Elbow

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 22, 2008
I'm a hitting instructor, and I have a client who can't seem to keep her front elbow down during her swing. Can you give me a couple drills to fix this?

May 22, 2008
I don't have any photos right now, but I can get one later this week!

When she swings, her front elbow stays quite a few inches away from her body, which creates a greater downward angle of her bat when it goes through the strike zone. If her timing if off at all, the ball is "topped" on inside pitches, and she pops up outside pitches towards the 3rd base dugout (she is left-handed).

Oct 25, 2009

When she swings, her front elbow stays quite a few inches away from her body, which creates a greater downward angle of her bat when it goes through the strike zone. If her timing if off at all, the ball is "topped" on inside pitches, and she pops up outside pitches towards the 3rd base dugout (she is left-handed).

Take a look at the thread Model Swings, post 11 by FiveFrameSwing. This is a beautiful swing. Notice the elbows.

Oct 12, 2009

This sounds like the front elbow may be too far away from her body, which can be a problem, but getting it down isn't the answer.

V_H_HD_FPS_Public_MeganBush_1B_HR_ToLF_09-071_60FPS_Tight_45-55_R.gif

Last edited:

Hitter

Banned
Dec 6, 2009
This sounds like the front elbow may be too far away from her body, which can be a problem, but getting it down isn't the answer.

V_H_HD_FPS_Public_MeganBush_1B_HR_ToLF_09-071_60FPS_Tight_45-55_R.gif

Chris would you consider at frame 48 or possibly 49 the the elbow is stacked up with the hand?

Very nice clip in my opinion!

Thanks Howard

Oct 12, 2009
Chris would you consider at frame 48 or possibly 49 the the elbow is stacked up with the hand?