Equipment recommendations for new 10u team

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jul 3, 2012
Iowa
Ok, so I have been asked to coach a 10u team. I “agreed” to do this, to help the program (yes I have a daughter on the team). Team will be new, but the club is already established (I have a 16 and 12 year old on the two other teams). I have a coaching degree, and have coached youth programs for many years and helped with HS and JH athletics here and there, so I don’t want this to turn into a “RUN AWAY AS FAST AS YOU CAN” thread.:)

What I am looking for, is what equipment for practice or games should I focus on, things maybe that the other teams forget about. I have been looking around, and here is my list for starting the team. We won’t be playing games until the spring, so I have some time, but will start to throw and hit yet this fall. Some of this will be hand me downs from the other teams from previous years, but not much.

Catchers gear
Two batting tee’s
Portable hitting screen
2 dozen softballs
1 dozen lite flight balls and\or 1 dz plastic waffle type balls
4 batting helmets
Buckets and\bags for balls
Team equipment bag
Bats
Maybe a wagon for game days

Am I missing anything? I appreciate any input, this forum has been great. Thanks in advance. Sorry if this or something similar has been posted before, I looked around a little, but didn't find what I was looking for.

Greenmonsters

Wannabe Duck Boat Owner
Feb 21, 2009
New England
Add: throw down bases/home plate.
Add: 6 or 12 TCB balls (15 oz BB size)

re portable hitting screen: get a Bownet rather than fold/pop up nets

May 7, 2008
Tucson
Encourage the girls to get their own helmets. One year, head lice spread throughout the league, due to sharing helmets. Also, not too many teams supply bats, anymore.

I carry a water cooler, too. Because there is just never enough water. Also, a first aide kit.

Apr 9, 2012