Do parents have to like the coach?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Feb 3, 2011
(10u rec)

Sluggers' thread inspired me to write this.

I'm a first-time coach and I'm very laid-back, by nature. My assistant is also a first-timer, but has 10 years playing experience. Having talked at length about our individual coaching philosophies, what we hope to get from the experience, what we hope the girls and their parents will gain from the experience, and what our expectations are for everyone in the 'family', I am confident that we'll make a great pair.

Some parents are not going to like the fact that I don't want them talking to their players in the dugout during games. That's their problem. Softball has the potential to be a very dangerous sport and if a player isn't fully focused from the time she steps on the field until the end of the game or practice, she could get hurt. I want them to be in the habit of blocking out anything that isn't relevant to the game.

I will never criticize a 10u rec player for making a mistake. That's a personal rule. I do, however, reserve the right to criticize a player if she is not giving 100% effort in my opinion. If Sally has been depressed lately because Grandma is sick or because of a bad grade in school, that's different. If the player cannot or does not wish to share that with me, then in cases like this, I would hope the parents would give us a heads-up. Some kids aren't able to compartmentalize things very well, and we don't want to put a player in a position where she's going to get hurt or be a detriment to her team. But assuming nothing's really wrong, lack of hustle will not be acceptable.