Baseball dad

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 13, 2010
As I have said I am in a kind of different area. One way we are different from lots of places is our LL area encompasses 3 schools a long way apart. only one offers Softball. So in the other places the girls play Baseball with the boys. Now I also umpire lots of local BB games.

This year I noticed a tall Blonde girl on one of the teams, Not unusuall but this girl is about 6ft at 12 years old, And she pitched. And boy did she bring it about as fast as they got in the box she set them down again. I have never seen a girl throw that hard at that age.
And she hit 7 home runs, She has a beutiful swing.

Well I found out that she is not from one of the far out rural areas but from right here, And will attend the local High School. Well being a Softball coach I approached her about playing for me next year.

She was ecstatic. " All my freinds play for you it would be so much fun to play with them". I thought I had an ace in the hole: Then I met her dad: His reply was " NO she is not playing THAT GAME". The girl was obviously hearbroke. She will have to play Juniors Div baseball in LL next year.
Sadly for her Juniors Div here is the most competitive youth BB Because they travel all over and lots of kids washout quick.

She will not have fun BB next year all because her dad has something against Softball. :(

Jan 18, 2010
In your face
Since I only have 1 child a DD, I thought I'd be stuck going to cheerleading or band, maybe ballet. First year softball at 5, we were both hooked. Hate it for this guy, he will regret it when it's too late.

sluggers

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 26, 2008
Dallas, Texas
One more example of a Daddy thinking he is smarter than his DD when he it comes to what sport his DD wants to play...