Allowing The Girls to Play the Game

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 7, 2008
Morris County, NJ
The folllowing is a true story, which occurred last week at our local LL game. The blurb was written by our League Director to the League's board of Directors. With all the complaints about adults behaving badly and poor sportsmanship, this story is a polar opposite. My team; Team Y was invloved and did come up on the short end of the score, but that's really not the the story. As a coach, I could not have been more proud of either team or all the parents involved.

Softball Managers and LL Board Members

Here is the scene: The two best teams in LL majors (11-12 y/o's) are set to play a game. The better record belongs to Team X, undefeated in Interleague play thus far, already having beaten the second best team in the league and the third. The other team is Team Y, 4-3 losers to Team X two weeks ago and with one of the best pitchers in the county. This kid throws Gas. Lots of parents around. Each team has warmed up well.

The game is really well played. LF for Team Y (the #12 batter) sticks out a glove and catches a sure triple. SS for Team X hits a legit home run off one of the Best Pitchers in the County. Clean play by both teams in the field. Team X wins 4-0, making no errors in the field. Parents and teams shake hands at the end. Great game. Good feelings all around. The better team won, at least tonight.

So why was this game special? The umpire didn't show due to the traffic mess. Two parents umpired, each for their pitcher, alternating each half inning. One worked behind the plate with gear, the other behind the mound. Nobody, all game, said even a groan about a ball/strike call. In a complicated play at first, one of the umps was flummoxed but the manager of the team at bat called his kid out (she was). The ump for the half inning said "I wasn't sure" and nobody complained.