1st time 10u coach, coached basketball & soccer

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Apr 3, 2022
Akron, Ohio
This is my first time coaching softball. New 10u coach here. I offered to assist but no parents would lead. So I took it upon myself in order for the girls to get a chance to play. I have recruited two experienced female coaches, I think it’s important for girls teams to have women as rolemodels. Any help in planning practices would be helpful. We have 8 practices before our first game.

Jan 25, 2022
i'm not a super experienced coach, but I have a couple years of it and a couple more watching my older daughter play. I've coached kids from 7 up to middle school, but mostly middle school. Have dealt with a lot of first time players. In my opinion, learning position play by taking infield/outfield is #1 for defense. For offense, they need to understand base running (emphasis on running through 1B). My head coach has a ton of experience, and our practices are generally once a week of nothing but batting, one or two of scrimmage, and the other practices are usually about half IF and OF work, followed by game play scenarios/reps, then the last 15 minutes or so will be base running. Kids like base running games.

If the kids are brand new, make sure they know 4 balls/3 strikes, outs, innings, rules, strike zone, etc. I never neglected to remember that the new kids knew NOTHING, but many times I've had to come behind one of the other coaches and explain what they meant, or translate the lingo for things like "eat it," "on the bag," etc. Just the little things you say during practices and games.

If you're using real pitchers, make sure they get 30-40 reps in with the catchers at every practice.

Oct 14, 2019